Local Option Homestead Exemption for Limited-Income Seniors

State

Florida

Year

2022

Variations in Receipt of Benefit

No Variation in Receipt of Benefits

Benefit Type

Exemption

Benefit

A county or municipality may provide an additional exemption to those with a limited income. This optional program would provide an additional exemption of up to $50,000 from assessed value. The exemption does not apply to school levies and is applied after statewide homestead exemptions.

How is Benefit Disbursed

Exemption from assessed value

Eligible Property Type

Residential

Characteristics of Eligible Property

Only residential property is eligible for this program.

Eligibility Criteria

Age

Homeowner

Income Ceiling

Principal Residence

Other Criteria

Description of Eligibility Criteria

The applicant must be 65 years of age or older as of 1 January 2022, have 2021 income of no more than $32,561 for relief in 2022, be a permanent Florida resident, and own property that qualifies as a homestead.

Local Option in Adoption of Program

Local government must take action to opt in

Local Option Regarding Program Features

Local option regarding program features

State Funding for Local Tax Loss

Local government covers all of its tax loss

Description of State Funding for Tax Loss

State statute does not provide for state funding for local tax loss.

Record ID

FL107_RR22

Footnotes

Effective for tax year 2022 and subsequently: annual application is no longer required. Instead, the tax appraiser will annually notify taxpayers of the income limit and if the taxpayer no longer qualifies based on income, they are required to notify the appraiser. This change is pursuant to 2021 Fla. Laws ch. 208 § 1 (HB597). The income limitation is adjusted annually on 1 January by the percentage change in the average cost-of-living index, as determined by the state. A homestead damaged by misfortune or calamity that is uninhabitable on 1 January may qualify for the exemption if: (a) the homeowner is otherwise qualified for a homestead exemption and (b) the homeowner intends to rebuild or repair the property within 3 years. Failure to rebuild or repair within 3 years constitutes an abandonment of the property as a homestead.

Sources

Fla. Stat. § 196.075 (in effect for 2022)
Source Constitution: 
Fla. Const. Art. VII § 6(d)
Florida Department of Revenue, Household Income Sworn Statement and Return, Form DR-501 (January 2022)
[http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr501sc.pdf Accessed 01/03/2024]
View Archived Source

Florida Department of Revenue, Two Additional Homestead Exemptions for Persons 65 and Older (January 2022)
[http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/AdditionalHomesteadExemptions.pdf Accessed 01/03/2024]
View Archived Source

Florida Department of Revenue, Original Application for Homestead and Related Tax Exemptions (November 2023)
[http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr501.pdf Accessed 01/03/2024]
View Archived Source
2021 Fla. Laws ch. 208 § 1 (HB597)

Join Our Mailing List

Back to top