Local Option Additional Exemption for Low-Income Seniors with Long-Term Residency

State

Florida

Year

2019

Variations in Receipt of Benefit

No Variation in Receipt of Benefits

Benefit Type

Exemption

Benefit

The benefit is an exemption up to the assessed value of the property for a person who has a title to a real estate with a just value of less than $250,000. This is a full exemption of assessed value by the municipal taxing authority that is levying its share of property taxes due and is often a full exemption of the ad valorem taxes due.

How is Benefit Disbursed

Exemption from assessed value

Eligible Property Type

Residential

Characteristics of Eligible Property

Only residential property is eligible for this program.

Eligibility Criteria

Age

Homeowner

Income Ceiling

Principal Residence

Property Value Limit

Other Criteria

Description of Eligibility Criteria

Individuals must fulfill the requirements set forth in the Local Option Homestead Exemption for Limited-Income Seniors program. The applicant must be at least 65 years of age on 1 January of the year of application. In addition the household adjusted gross income must not exceed $30,174 and the just value of the property must be less than $250,000 in the initial year of the application. The applicant must have maintained permanent residency on the property for no less than 25 years.

Local Option in Adoption of Program

Local government must take action to opt in

Local Option Regarding Program Features

No local option regarding program features

State Funding for Local Tax Loss

Local government covers all of its tax loss

Description of State Funding for Tax Loss

State statutes do not provide for state funding for local tax loss.

Record ID

FL109_RR19

Footnotes

The ordinance requires a taxpayer claiming the exemption to annually submit a sworn statement of household income prior, on a form prescribed by the Department of Revenue, to the property appraiser not later than 1 March. The income limitation shall be adjusted annually on 1 January by the percentage change in the average cost-of-living index. The homeowner must have legal title or beneficial title in equity of the property, and they also must make a good faith effort to make the property their permanent residence. The homestead exemption does not extend to residents claiming permanent residence in other states. A homestead damaged by misfortune or calamity that is uninhabitable on 1 January may qualify for the exemption if (a) the homeowner is otherwise qualified for a homestead exemption and (b) the homeowner intends to rebuild or repair the property within 3 years. Failure to rebuild or repair within 3 years constitutes an abandonment of the property as a homestead.

Sources

Fla. Stat. § 196.075 (in effect for 2019)
Source Constitution: 
Fla. Const. Art. VII §6(d)
Florida Department of Revenue, Adjusted Gross Household Income Sworn Statement and Return, (2019)
[http://floridarevenue.com/property/Documents/dr501sc.pdf Accessed 11/23/2020]
View Archived Source


Join Our Mailing List

Back to top