Homestead Exemption for Seniors or the Disabled

State

Mississippi

Year

2021

Variations in Receipt of Benefit

No Variation in Receipt of Benefits

Benefit Type

Assessment Freeze

Exemption

Benefit

Eligible applicants qualify for an exemption of $7,500 from the assessed value of their homestead. Applicants also receive an assessment freeze as part of the benefit. The assessment freeze is an exemption in the amount of the difference between the assessed value of the property on 1 January 2018 or the first year in which the applicant becomes eligible, and the full amount of the increase in assessed value after that day. Appreciation due to improvements or expansions made to the property are not exempt unless they are made to improve energy efficiency, safety, or to allow improved access to the homestead. Forms for application are created by the county assessors. All applications must be filed between January 1st and April 1st.

How is Benefit Disbursed

Exemption from assessed value

Eligible Property Type

Residential

Characteristics of Eligible Property

Only residential property is eligible for this program. All homestead property has a size limitation of 160 acres.

Eligibility Criteria

Age

Disability

Homeowner

Principal Residence

Surviving Spouse

Description of Eligibility Criteria

Eligible taxpayers must be at least 65 years old or totally disabled. In addition, they must occupy the qualifying property as their primary residence. Taxpayers claiming the exemption because of a disability must present proof of any of the following: (1) classification as totally disabled under the Federal Social Security Act or the Railroad Retirement Act; (2) classification as totally disabled under the provisions of a retirement plan that is qualified under the United States Internal Revenue Code; (3) classification as totally disabled by the Department of Revenue; or (4) service connected, total disability of an honorably discharged veteran. Unremarried surviving spouses of a recipient are entitled to the benefit as well.

Local Option in Adoption of Program

Local government is unable to exercise an option

Local Option Regarding Program Features

No local option regarding program features

State Funding for Local Tax Loss

State and local government share the local tax loss

Description of State Funding for Tax Loss

The state helps cover the cost of providing the exemption by reimbursing municipalities at a rate of $200 per qualifying taxpayer, and counties and school districts at a rate of $50 per qualifying taxpayer.

Record ID

MS102_RR21

Footnotes

Recipients of this benefit are also exempted from the forest acreage tax. Property owned jointly by a husband and wife and property owned in fee simple by either spouse is eligible for this exemption in full, as long as either spouse fulfills the age or disability requirement. For all other jointly owned property, the amount of the exemption is determined on the basis of each owner's qualifications and pro rata share of the property.

Sources

Miss. Code Ann. § 27-33-19;
Miss. Code Ann. § 27-33-67 (2);
Miss. Code Ann. § 27-33-75;
Miss. Code Ann. § 27-33-77 (in effect for 2021)
Mississippi Tax Commission, Property FAQ
[https://www.dor.ms.gov/sites/default/files/Property/PropertyFAQ.pdf Accessed 02/02/2022]
View Archived Source

Regístrese en nuestra lista de contactos

Back to top